Story start 18th-24 Oct 2014

image We used this picture as our first story start. The stories submitted are fantastic, I am sure you will agree. Please leave some comments we would love to hear from you.  Childrens entries are first then adults. Why don’t you try this weeks story start?

By Erica 10

Every Saturday I go to the beach, the same old beach with the iron men stuck in the sand. Surprisingly today it was rather crowded with people, strange looking people! When I looked round the iron men were no longer standing to attention. I peered into the distance. There was one. Just one! Then I looked at the rest of the people. It looked as if the iron men were alive! I glanced back at the one man in the distance. He turned his head and looked at me. I felt as cold as ice. I shut my eyes and shook my head. My heart was racing. Quickly I opened my eyes and stared. What had happened? Am I going mad? I shook my head again. The iron men had returned! Had I dreamt it? Quickly I scanned the beach. It was eerily empty. I guess I’ll never know.

By Emily 9

Just a few years ago lived a lonely man, he was fast asleep when he heard a noise. He found out it was some sea creatures. They were scuttling across the glistening white sand in the moonlit sky. It was very strange because he could hear them talking in English! He knew that he could not tell anyone about this, because the police and scientist’s would capture him, and the sea creatures and do experiments on them!!!!!
Then he heard someone coming, it was the beach patrol people!!!!! QUICK, QUICK, HIDE, HIDE!!!!! He did not know where to go, should he take the sea creatures with him or leave them, this was a life changing decision!!!!! Nobody was allowed to be on the beach at night!!! So he grabbed his sea creatures and ran as he could adrenalin pumping through his body!! He got into his house locked the doors and booked a one way flight to America!!!!! He did not want anyone
to find out about his sea creatures!!!!! Absolutely NO ONE!!!!! Would find out about him and HIS sea creatures.
THE END!!!!!!

By Eve-Marie 10

We ran knowing it was after us. We knew that if they caught us we’d be dead. The only place we could go was the beach. There was only one way to the beach but it was a long way. “So we’ve got to go that way?” Rachel enquired.
“Yes,” I replied
After a while our bags were packed and we were on our way. We crossed heath land and desserts, snow and ice in days and nights. After a week of travels we came to two paths, one leading to a beach land and another leading to a field. Just as we were about to go to the beach seven of them, (by the way it, they and them were actually sand monsters. They were called ‘faceless ones’ dead people who killed.) We ran to the beach without thinking. At the beach a figure stood it was another victim..

By Zm 9

One day there was a alien called Zog,he had just crash landed on planet shroom. Zog felt confused he was covered in wet, slimy, slobbery sand. He saw in the distance a tiny girl, as small as a baby. Zog instantly started to run at her to see if she was OK. Her name was Chloe they became good friends after a while. They went to the beach every day, and lived in a small hut by  the sea. 🙂

By Abby & Natalie 10

Dear Diary,
I’ve had a very strange day today.I was walking my dog,Poppy when I saw a man covered in wet and dry mud .It looked like he’d been in Pompeii at the time of the volcanic explosion.He was also pointing at the sea as if he was shouting but there was no noise coming out of his mouth as if he could not speak.I said hello but the same thing happened, he must have thought I could understand because he carried on lipsinking.Poppy started to bark. She ran into a cave in the cliff. Suddenly the ground started to shake. He ran after her .CRASH- the cliff fell …
I started to cry then suddenly I heard a bark and a grey creature came running towards me, I soon realised that it was my puppy, Poppy.

By Ben 10

There it was the thing standing in the sand what was it ……………
I walked over it was still like a rock I was intrested I stuck my hand
In the sand it was all cold inside I started to shake I then was scraping
Away the sand when I did the face it was green it smiled at me 🙂 I was thinking what it was it lifted its hand then everything was black

By Bella 10

Why was he standing there? no one knew.
What was he doing? no one knew.
Who was he? no one knew
but why?
Maybe he was imaginary,
or maybe he was someone but who?
Maybe someone did know but sworn not to tell,
a bit like a young boy called Abny. Abny Gall.
Abny was an intelligent lad and he was also extremly well behaved.
Unfortunately he had a little secret that he swor not to tell, snitch or give any signs about it but one stormy dark night Abny had a dream about him telling everyone the secret and then something bad happening but he also had another dream that night but the other way around, what happened was he never told anyone but his parents got accused for the mistery instead. The next morning Abny thought about last night and made a decision that he would tell his mother.

By Shawn 10

Standing near the dusty old surface of the mysterious depths off the shining sands, of the island of  Palmires stood the troublesome alien Jeffery, covered full of the eatable sand,kicking at the glorious new sea water.The troublesome kid was staring at the sea ,for he had never seen anything like it before ever in his mysterious old life full of trouble.

By Louis 9

Once, on an infant planet, far, far, away, was a sand filled alien, who looked across the mammoth ocean of Kayland. Gazing at the passing dolphins, amazed, he had chosen his fate. He had to run away. He had always been lonely, left with the dolphins alone. He had to escape. No one had ever lasted longer than him, with no water or food, he was certain to die.

By Patrick 9

Here I am again on my own with no friends.
No one to play with. Rolling around in the
sand. In fact, the floor less sand everyone ignoring
Me getting bullied round every corner. Mum and Dad hate me because I stay in my room.

Living in a lonely world. It’s hard to find love for me.

By M.E 9

Once upon a time on a sandy beach my friends and I went in the water and splashed around . After a couple hours we got out.Then we saw a man standing there covered in sand and he wouldn’t move.So we went over and touched him then he looked down and shouted at us saying “Beep boom bomb deep doom domb feep foom fomb!”And we all ran and I dropped my phone and he picked it up and ate it then I came back for it and he was still just standing there and I started to search and that’s when something really bad happened he ate me…

By Elizabeth 9

Far far in a different planet a boy called Tony loved going to the beach and it was his best in his life ……But it was a different planet so the planet’s ugly alien looking president has a rule that,people are only allowed to go to the beach once a year.Now Tony has went to the beach nearly ten times!When it was a meeting with the president Tony asked his mother”can we go to the beach?”……….and the president said that Tonys punishment was he has to be naked covered in sand looking at the sun andso he did.His parents were so scared and on summer dad went to look for Tony and he saw him playing around the beach!!!!

By Finlay 9

I had been rolling in the sand for hours now, and eventually I got tired. I stood up, covered in sand. As I glanced out to sea, I noticed a shape moving across the waves. The moment it reached the sand, it stood up.
My whole body filled with shock. The shape was horrible, especially it’s face.
I realised it was an alien.
I ran from the beach, straight to my dad. I told him what happened, and we prepared for what was coming next.

By Emily & Grace 9

I was taking off in my aircraft when suddenly I hit the ground. I was terrified and I got out of my aircraft and I fell into sand. I saw a strange creature
On the horizon I froze like a icecube and it was so magical! I soon found out I was on the planet zoxds the most toxic planet that ever lived.

Then disaster strikes I had landed on a toxic beach filled with sand and deadly water what happens next!!!!!!!!

By Zapella 10

Dear my old diary,
Last night it had the weirdest dream ever. I felt like I was going to .. You really do not want to know , just thinking about it makes me want to puke!
Well I may as well tell you all about the story like you are going to tell any one!

So it was a simple morning, well at first until this…
There was my dad who I thought had died 4 years ago but there was standing right in front of my eyes looking like he had just been beaten up (by a sand monster- as if)! “Is it really you?” I asked a man who I thought it was my dad!
” Only if you are my son Sammie,” he replied.
“Dad ! I thought you were dead!”
“nonsense  who told you that.”
“Mother did”
” Just ignore her she has been at me for years!”
“Then who’s body was it?”…

By Maria 10

The Sandman

It was him it really was I saw him.I was peacefully riding my bike alongside my friends Lily and Isabella when we noticed something,the beach was deserted there was no one there but everything looked fine.All the shops were closed not a single person to be seen.I felt a shiver down my spine I just knew something was up, something bad, really bad, it was like someone or something was watching you.
Then the sand started moving weirdly, it was forming a whirlpool and suddenly formed a figure I had ever seen before that still sends a shiver down my spine! A Sandman!

By Zaphia 10

There I was standing in a puddle, covered in sand after being tackled by these bullies who took all my clothes. Where have all my friends gone? I feel all alone, so lonely I feel I could cry.
And this is where it all started to change…
“What is that out on the horizon? It looks like it is in danger or it is very lonely!” I asked Mattie the shop keeper.
He replied “Oh Jesse it looks like…” he stopped for a minute and thought “It can’t be, it just can’t be.. Wait.. No, it can’t be, wait yes, it can, it’s Trevor-” He shrieked with excitement.
“Who is Trevor?” I asked Mattie before he had a chance to tell me. “Trevor is a Dolphin but not just any, a magic dolphin, he shall solve your problems, you should be friends and travel the oceans..”

By Molly 11

I was stood there admiring the sunset when I became stuck in my position. I was imagining the freezing cold rain and waiting for someone to help, they didn’t. Since that day I have lived in the dark, alone. Nobody comes in, nobody comes out. My partner passed recently, I couldn’t even go to their funeral. Now I am sat here, depressed.

By Maisie 12

As I walked across the rough,wet sand, I saw something. Something strange. A statue, it was moving! I stared, it glared it walked towards me, I walked away from it. It was too late, it grabbed me

Story starts by adults:

By Sara 21

It was almost nightfall before I arrived at my destination. I was tired and the sun had ravaged my skin. I squinted up into the sunlight and willed him to come soon. I waited for what felt like hours, I was drained and in need of nourishment.
Suddenly I heard it the faint sound of music and a deep rumbling sound from through the dunes. A smile crept slowly over my face, “Finally” I said out loud…
The ice cream van!!
🙂

By Joe 32

I breathe deeply. Take in lungs full of pure sweet air. After months of travel I have made it. The journey was difficult, boring at times and of course I miss the family left behind.

This was my only option though. I had to leave, had to get away from the mess I had created. I know that leaving those on Earth to suffer and eventually die would appear cowardly to some. But honestly, what else could I do? You would do the same in my situation too wouldn’t you…

By Edward 39

He was never one of them, the trolls, with their slavering jaws and their rending claws. And though they allowed him to stand with them, they accepted him. He did all he could, eating sheep and roaring as he stormed through the forest, but it was clear that he was different. He was not a monster like them.
The other trolls called him ugly and said he didn’t belong, fed him scraps and were cruel to him. Finally, he could take no more, and so he walked out onto the beach, the sand damp beneath his feet, and he waited for the sun to rise.
He wondered why his shoulders were slim and his back straight, as the colours on the horizon started to form, but he never found an answer, for when the first ray of sunlight touched him, he turned to stone.
And no one wept for him.

By Andy 49

I stand and stare.
Iridescent blue sky and hazy sunlight bathe my face. The world is silent. Slowly the tide turns and water creeps up the beach, lapping lazily around my feet. Tiny weeds tangle around my legs and creatures begin to swim and settle on my stiff legs.
I stand and stare.
Cold rises up my body as the water deepens and the surging tide intensifies. Soon the lower half of my body is immersed in green water and small rainbows of oil radiate from my rusting torso. My body is bathed in cold and slowly it rises over my head.
I stand and stare.
Eddies swirl and light refracts as tiny fish swim past my face. Time stands still until gradually water begins to recede. Slowly my body is revealed, washed clean by the endless tides. The bright sunlight and iridescent blue sky bathe my face.
I stand and stare.

We also had some great work based on Poppy’s Planet!

By Scarlett  6

Poppy’s Magic Misty Mountain Adventure

Once upon a time there was a little penguin called Poppy who lived in the Antarctic with her mother and father. One day she asked her mother,

“Please can I go and visit the cold, misty mountains?” Her mum said yes so off she sped, across the snow in her sled, to the mountains far away. She jumped off her sled at the bottom of the mountain and began to climb. As she was climbing up she saw something at the top shining in the sunlight. The higher she climbed it got colder and colder but she kept going. When she got to to the top she saw a pot of gold. As she touched it rainbows burst out of the middle of the mountain and Poppy was so happy. She had always wanted to know where rainbows came from.

By Sylva 42 1/2 🙂

Poppy the flying penguin
Is off on adventures again.
Down below are fields of green
And flowers along the lane.

She follows the winding path
To a wood. What can she see?
She lands to take a look
At a laden chestnut tree.

Golden leaves swish round her feet,
Crunch as she stomps and wriggles.
Then through the trees she hears a sound
Of happy shouts and giggles.

The children playing conkers
Welcome Poppy to their game.
She plays all day then says goodbye
And flies back to her bed again.

2 thoughts on “Story start 18th-24 Oct 2014

Leave a Reply

